Olympic Air - Home
MYRINA'S FORT

The Aegean’s largest fortress, Myrina’s castle was built on a rocky peninsula by Byzantine Emperor Andronicus Comnenus in 1186 and rebuilt in a century later by the Venetian Duke of Lemnos. The imposing structure with its high walls and towers, lords over the town.

ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITES

ANCIENT HΕPHAESTIA
The largest city of Lemnos in antiquity, Ancient Hephaestia was named after the Greek God of fire and blacksmiths. Archaeologists have proved that the area has been continuously inhabited from the Late Bronze Age until the Byzantine period. Don’t miss a visit to the restored ancient theatre of Hephaestia, dating from the Hellenistic period.

MYRINA ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEUM

Located in a beautiful neoclassic building, used during Ottoman times as the island’s administrative headquarters, the museum houses today various unique items from excavations in ancient Hephaestia, Kavirio and other sites, dating from Prehistoric, Archaic, Roman and Hellenistic times.

MYRINA'S FORT

preloader
The Aegean’s largest fortress, Myrina’s castle was built on a rocky peninsula by Byzantine Emperor Andronicus Comnenus in 1186 and rebuilt in a century later by the Venetian Duke of Lemnos. The imposing structure with its high walls and towers, lords over the town.


ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITES

preloader
Ancient Hephaestia: The largest city of Lemnos in antiquity, Ancient Hephaestia was named after the Greek God of fire and blacksmiths. Archaeologists have proved that the area has been continuously inhabited from the Late Bronze Age until the Byzantine period. Don’t miss a visit to the restored ancient theatre of Hephaestia, dating from the Hellenistic period.

The archaeological site of ancient Poliochni on Lemnos: Dating from around 4000 BC, Poliochni, was one of Europe’s earliest communities. The site’s extensive excavation has brought to light four consecutive settlementsb, built one on top of the other.
The Kaviroi Sanctuary: The Sanctuary of the mysterious Kaviroi cult –dedicated to Hephaestus’ children with the minor goddess Kaveiro–is located outside the walls of ancient Hephaestia. Under the cliffs, lies the “Cave of Philoctetes”, where according to legend, the wounded Homeric hero was brought by his comrades to heal.


MYRINA ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEUM

preloader
Located in a beautiful neoclassic building, used during Ottoman times as the island’s administrative headquarters, the museum houses today various unique items from excavations in ancient Hephaestia, Kavirio and other sites, dating from Prehistoric, Archaic, Roman and Hellenistic times.
Address: Romeikos Gialos, Myrina
Opening hours: Tu-Su 08:30- 15:00 (winter).


Where
Myrina, T:+30 2254022990
ECCLESIASTICAL MUSEUM

In the confines of the town’ s Metropolitan Building you will find the island’ s ecclesiastical museum, housing votive items, icons, priestly cassocks and other finely crafted exhibits. A little ways down the road, you may visit the church of Agia Triada with the beautiful twin bell towers, built thanks to the financial help of Lemnian ship owners. In this spot stood the old wooden church, where the island’ s Metropolitan Joachim was hung by the Turks in 1870.

FOLK ART MUSEUM

The museum, in the village of Portianou, showcases an impressive collection related to Lemnian folklore. The three-storey building, constructed in the traditional Lemnian mansion style, has been beautifully renovated. A little ways off, visit the Cathedral of Agia Triada with its impressive steeples.

BALKAN ART MUSEUM

A direct result of the 1999 and 2001 painting competition gathering Balkan artists, the museum displays an eclectic collection of Albanian, Bulgarian, Romanian, former Yugoslavian and Turkish art, inspired by Limnos. Do visit the Folk Museum in the village of Portianou, as well as the Sponge Fishing Museum in New Koutali.

ECCLESIASTICAL MUSEUM

preloader
In the confines of the town’ s Metropolitan Building you will find the island’ s ecclesiastical museum, housing votive items, icons, priestly cassocks and other finely crafted exhibits. A little ways down the road, you may visit the church of Agia Triada with the beautiful twin bell towers, built thanks to the financial help of Lemnian ship owners. In this spot stood the old wooden church, where the island’ s Metropolitan Joachim was hung by the Turks in 1870.


FOLK ART MUSEUM

preloader
The museum, in the village of Portianou, showcases an impressive collection related to Lemnian folklore. The three-storey building, constructed in the traditional Lemnian mansion style, has been beautifully renovated. A little ways off, visit the Cathedral of Agia Triada with its impressive steeples.


BALKAN ART MUSEUM

preloader
A direct result of the 1999 and 2001 painting competition gathering Balkan artists, the museum displays an eclectic collection of Albanian, Bulgarian, Romanian, former Yugoslavian and Turkish art, inspired by Limnos. Do visit the Folk Museum in the village of Portianou, as well as the Sponge Fishing Museum in New Koutali.
THE CHURCH OF PANAGHIA KAKKAVIOTISA

This astoundingly beautiful early 14th century chapel, near the small village of Zemata, is located on a spectacular site, literally dug in a hilltop cave on the top of a hill.

THE CHURCH OF PANAGHIA KAKKAVIOTISA

preloader
This astoundingly beautiful early 14th century chapel, near the small village of Zemata, is located on a spectacular site, literally dug in a hilltop cave on the top of a hill.