Olympic Air - Home
ALEXANDROS PAPADIAMANTIS MUSEUM

The house where the writer Alexandros Papadiamantis was born, lived and died, on the town’s cobblestoned street bearing his name, has been a museum since 1994. The layout of the house remains the same as the original, including much of the furniture and personal belongings of Papadiamantis, as his desk, bed, many unpublished manuscripts and photographs.

BOURTZI

This wooded peninsula dividing the port into two, is home to the ruins of the Venetian Castle of St. George, built in 1207. The old school building, donated by Andreas Sygros, houses today the Municipal Cultural Centre. After your walk along the harbour, stop for a drink at a café overlooking the Aegean.

THE FORT (KASTRO)

Usual setting of Papadiamanti’s novels and until 1830 the capital of Skiathos, the fortified structure literally hangs off the rock at the island’s northernmost point. The ruins of the fortress town date from the 14th century, when there were more than 300 dwellings and 30 churches. Today, only three churches survive: the Church of Christ, and those of Agios Nikolas and Agia Marina. Reach the castle after hiking the superb 700 m path, with its unique view of the Aegean.

ALEXANDROS PAPADIAMANTIS MUSEUM

preloader
The house where the writer Alexandros Papadiamantis was born, lived and died, on the town’s cobblestoned street bearing his name, has been a museum since 1994. The layout of the house remains the same as the original, including much of the furniture and personal belongings of Papadiamantis, as his desk, bed, many unpublished manuscripts and photographs.


Where
Papadiamanti str., T:+30 2427022240

BOURTZI

preloader
This wooded peninsula dividing the port into two, is home to the ruins of the Venetian Castle of St. George, built in 1207. The old school building, donated by Andreas Sygros, houses today the Municipal Cultural Centre. After your walk along the harbour, stop for a drink at a café overlooking the Aegean.


THE FORT (KASTRO)

preloader
Usual setting of Papadiamanti’s novels and until 1830 the capital of Skiathos, the fortified structure literally hangs off the rock at the island’s northernmost point. The ruins of the fortress town date from the 14th century, when there were more than 300 dwellings and 30 churches. Today, only three churches survive: the Church of Christ, and those of Agios Nikolas and Agia Marina. Reach the castle after hiking the superb 700 m path, with its unique view of the Aegean.